Skip directly to content


Word Entertainment, Warner Music Group’s Christian music division, is celebrating their 60th anniversary year with a total of 19 Dove Award wins and taking home five out of the eight top awards at the 42nd Annual GMA Dove Awards. Fervent Records’ darling superstar, Francesca Battistelli, won the award for “Artist of the Year” making her the first female vocalist in 19 years to claim the elite title. The last female to win the award was Word Label Group artist, Amy Grant. Hot debut artist Chris August also made an impressive sweep at Wednesday’s award show receiving awards for “New Artist of the Year” and “Male Vocalist of the Year,” adding him to an elite group of artists in the history of the show who have received both awards. The only other artists who have achieved this feat are Jeremy Camp in 2004 and Michael English in 1992.

Catch the 42nd Annual Dove Awards show this Sunday, April 24 at 7:00 PM (EST) on the Gospel Music Channel (GMC).

Artist of the Year: Francesca Battistelli
Choral Collection of the Year: Declare Your Name - Carol Cymbala and Jason Michael Webb
Christmas Album of the Year: Home for the Holidays – Point of Grace
Country Album of the Year: No Changin’ Us – Point of Grace
Country Recorded Song of the Year: “There Is Nothing Greater Than Grace” – Point of Grace
Female Vocalist of the Year: Francesca Battistelli
Group of the Year: NEEDTOBREATHE
Inspirational Album of the Year: The Edge of the Divine – Sandi Patty (Stylos Records)
Male Vocalist of the Year: Chris August
Musical of the Year: As Sure As My Redeemer Lives…So Shall I – Robert Sterling, Tony Wood
New Artist of the Year: Chris August
Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year: No Far Away, Chris August
Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year: “Beautiful Beautiful” – Francesca Battistelli
Praise & Worship Album of the Year: As Long As It Takes – Meredith Andrews
Producer of the Year: Ian Eskelin
Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year: Outta Space Love – Group 1 Crew
Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year: “Walking on the Stars” – Group 1 Crew
Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year: “Something Beautiful” – NEEDTOBREATHE
Worship Song of the Year: “How Great Is The Love” – Meredith Andrews (tie)